RSS

Rant and Training

09 Jul

Welp, today wraps up another training session. Like I said before, last week really showed me I was selling myself short. So, when I went into the gym today, I approached the weights like I was willing to pick up every single plate and dominate them…all at once! I added weight to the bar…added reps…tweeked my form to perfection…everything I could to make sure my body was really being tested. I can’t wait to get back next week! Though next week is my “deload” phase, I will still be adding weights (just lowering my sets). I am soooo tempted to test my max next week too…but I don’t want to interfere with anything. I know deloading is important…so I’ll just be patient.

Last week, I started going to the gym at night. At night, there is barely any people in the weight room. I love that. I don’t have to worry about waiting for the squat rack or someone asking me how many more sets I have left. I don’t have to worry about hearing someone grunt and moan on every rep during every set. In fact…I feel like the whole room is mine. And the people who are there gives me an audience 🙂 Sure, when the weight is on my back or I’m pushing it over my head, I am so focused on it, the world around me disappears. But…it’s also pretty cool knowing I am the only girl in the weight room…Sure I may be pushing around as much weight as the guys, but my form is way better and fuller than theirs. Every single one of them. At the end of the day, they are my competition. And it helps to “prove” something in front of them. I love it.

That being said, I am happy to say that next Friday, I will have my own home gym. It will be the bare minimum including a squat rack, bench and weights. That’s it. And that’s all I need. Well…I would like to keep working on my pull ups…so I’ll be visiting a park to do them on monkey bars…hey, whatever gets the job done 🙂

I also want to talk about my little victory today:

Every time I see a guy squat or bench press, they use 45lb plates. They look huge and intimidating…and just pure awesome! I use to envy them…always thinking to myself, “Damn, I can’t wait until I can use 45lb plates!” Well it dawned on me today that I can use them for my deadlifts! I know…AWESOME! I felt so cool! I can’t wait to add another set of 45lbs either! But I really can’t wait to use them for my squats! I have about 15lbs more to go before I can do that. I know when I can use those, my confidence and attitude will explode through the roof! Bring it on, baby!

Let me also rant about some of the guys that go to the gym and “lift weights.” Why is it that all they do is come and bench press? Over and over again…as if they have no limit is sets? What about other upper body exercises like push ups and chin ups? Forget that…what about YOUR LOWER BODY? Ever wondered why your upper body was so huge but your legs were sticks? That doesn’t look cute…at all. Do some freaking squats. And the ones that do squats, why don’t they ever go all the way down? At least do a 90 degree squat! Sure, you have 250lbs on your back…but you’re only doing a quarter of a squat! If you would check your ego, decrease your weight and make sure your form is right, you would become way stronger! I haven’t been lifting very long and I even know that! I can’t wait to get my weight up and show these boys up! AND WHY AM I THE ONLY ONE DEADLIFTING?! I’ll stop….

Rant over…

So, in short, I was very pleased with my session today. I went hard. That’s all that needs to be said. I am so looking forward to next week!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
