RSS

Feeling Good, Feeling Great

20 Jul

If I haven’t mentioned it before, I hate cardio now. I use to be the queen of cardio…making sure I sweat at least 5 times a week. Now? I hate it. I rather throw some weight around 3 times a day than do cardio…unless it’s really intense for about 10 minutes. That’s it. Other than that, it’s boring, waste of time and meaningless. To me. And I won’t be consistent with more that than.

With that being said, today I did awesome with my high intensity, body circuits. It included 50 jumping jacks, 10 fast bodyweight squats, 5 push ups, 40 mountain climbers, 15 high knees and 5 burpees. And I gave it my all. I did 3 sets, with one and half minute rests between. I felt pretty good afterwards.

After about 3 hours or so, I hit the gym to do some pull ups. Up until now, I have been training for pull ups with the assistant machine. I really wanted to do pull ups for about 4 months now. Today…I said forget it…I’m going to just go for it and see what happens…without assistance. I DID ONE! Sure…I struggled a bit…desperately trying to pull my self all the way up…but I did it (I think that’s what matters, right?). How many other females you know say they can do a pull up? (Please say not that many) I could only do one though…so I had to do all my sets with a little more assistance. But I have definitely come a long way. I remember when I started doing strength training, I could only do one and a half push ups…wanting so bad to do be able to do 10 good ones. Now I do weighted push ups. I remember when I wanted so badly to do a pull up…now I can do one! Now, my next goal is to do a chin up. But you want to know what would be just AWESOME? To be able to climb a rope! One day….yes, one day…

Also, right now, I am working on my performance on the ab wheel. I seen Nia Shanks do it before, and she made it look sooooo easy. So I bought one, thinking I could do it, too. Uh…NOT! That crap is hard. So I want to be able to do it. I’ve gotten better…but not quite there yet. I’ll keep you posted on all my PRs 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
